Vocamus Writers Community Blog - Local Literary News

Book Bash festival 2022 Date Is Set

The Book Bash Festival is on and in-person for 2022!

Friday, Jun 24 2022

Read More

Young Environmental Science Writers Workshop

A free week-long immersive workshop for young writers.

Friday, Jun 17 2022

Read More

Nicholas Ruddock Awards News

Nicholas Ruddock Awards News

Tuesday, May 17 2022

Read More

VWC Will Be at the Wellington County Writers' Festival

Vocamus Writers Community will be selling books by local authors at the Wellington County Writers' Festival

Friday, Apr 22 2022

Read More

We're at the Wellington County Writers Festival

Vocamus Writers Community will be at the Wellington County Writers Festival's opening day festivities.

Monday, Apr 18 2022

Read More

We're Looking for a Fall Retreat Coordinator

Vocamus Writers Community is looking for someone to volunteer as our Fall Retreat Coordinator.

Friday, Apr 8 2022

Read More

Zandra Juarez Is Our New Director of Communications

Zandra Juarez is the new Vocamus Writers Community Director of Communications

Thursday, Apr 7 2022

Read More

VWC Welcomes Dylan Curran

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Dylan Curran.

Tuesday, Apr 5 2022

Read More

Call for Submissions – One Thousand Trees

Local publisher One Thousand Trees is calling for submissions for two upcoming anthologies.

Tuesday, Mar 29 2022

Read More

Review a Recent Local Book?

Some recent titles by local authors that are looking for reviewers.

Wednesday, Mar 16 2022

Read More

VWC Welcomes Drew Edwards

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Drew Edwards.

Tuesday, Feb 15 2022

Read More

Poetry Group is Back!

The Vocamus Writers Community Poetry Group is back!

Monday, Feb 14 2022

Read More

Amber Allen Is Our New Book Bash Coordinator

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to announce that Amber Allen will be taking on the role of Book Bash Festival Coordinator!

Friday, Feb 11 2022

Read More

VWC Welcomes Serena Tene

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Serena Tene.

Wednesday, Feb 9 2022

Read More

We're Looking for an Assistant Book Bash Festival Coordinator

We're looking for an Assistant Book Bash Festival Coordinator.

Tuesday, Feb 8 2022

Read More

ArtsEverywhere Festival Registration Now Open

Registration is now open for the ArtsEverywhere Festival's January events.

Wednesday, Jan 19 2022

Read More

VWC Welcomes James Gordon

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome James Gordon.

Tuesday, Dec 7 2021

Read More

VWC Welcomes Trish Heyes

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Trish Heyes.

Tuesday, Sep 7 2021

Read More

A Rhapsody Revamp - and Submissions Are Open!

Our annual Rhapsody anthology is now accepting short prose.

Friday, Sep 3 2021

Read More

VWC Is Looking for Coordinators

We're looking for a few people who might like to help coordinate activities.

Friday, Sep 3 2021

Read More

VWC Welcomes Tsveti Nacheva

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Tsveti Nacheva.

Tuesday, Aug 31 2021

Read More

EMWF Panel: Women, Interrupted

EMWF Panel: Women, Interrupted

Friday, Aug 20 2021

Read More

VWC Online Genre Fiction Writers Hang-Out

The Vocamus Writers Community Genre Fiction Group will meet online via Zoom.

Monday, Aug 16 2021

Read More

VWC Welcomes Jessica Wilson

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Jessica Wilson.

Tuesday, Jul 27 2021

Read More

VWC Welcomes Laura Cok

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Lara Cok.

Friday, Jul 23 2021

Read More

VWC Welcomes Paulus Linnaeus

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Paulus Linnaeus.

Monday, Jul 5 2021

Read More

VWC Welcomes Kate MacDonald

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Kate MacDonald.

Tuesday, May 25 2021

Read More

Marian Thorpe a Finalist for Eric Hoffer Award

Guelph author Marian Thorpe's "Empire's Daughter" was a finalist for the 2021 Eric Hoffer Book Awards.

Friday, May 21 2021

Read More

VWC Welcomes Gloria Nye

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Gloria Nye.

Thursday, May 20 2021

Read More

VWC Welcomes Vaughan Pruden

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Vaughan Pruden.

Wednesday, May 19 2021

Read More

VWC Welcomes Libby Johnstone

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Libby Johnstone.

Friday, Apr 16 2021

Read More

Call for Submissions – Sharing Anthology: Pets Edition

Lisa Browning from One Thousand Trees is calling for submissions to the latest installment of the Sharing Anthology.

Friday, Mar 26 2021

Read More

Arts Everywhere New Website Launch

Arts Everywhere launches its new redesigned website.

Monday, Mar 22 2021

Read More

Help Wanted – Provide Feedback on Stories by Teen Writers

We're looking for local writers to help young authors from the Guelph Public Library's Teen Writing Contest.

Wednesday, Mar 10 2021

Read More

VWC Welcomes Lauren Wright Vartanian

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Wright Vartanian.

Friday, Mar 5 2021

Read More

Marion Reidel Reviews Lauren Stein's "Fun at Work"

Marion Reidel reviews Lauren Stein's "Fun at Work".

Thursday, Mar 4 2021

Read More

Canadian Freelance Guild Meeting

The monthly meeting of the Canadian Freelance Guild.

Wednesday, Mar 3 2021

Read More

VWC Welcomes John Braden Speers

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome John Braden Speers.

Tuesday, Feb 23 2021

Read More

Karen Houle Reading

Guelph poet Karen Houle will be holding an online reading.

Monday, Feb 1 2021

Read More

Review a Book by Local Author, Lauren Stein

Review a book by local author, Lauren Stein

Saturday, Jan 16 2021

Read More

New Watershed Writers Radio Series

New Watershed Writers Radio Series.

Wednesday, Jan 13 2021

Read More

GPL Teen Writing Contest Opens

The Guelph Public Libreary's Teen Writing Contest Is Now Open

Thursday, Jan 7 2021

Read More

VWC Online Genre Fiction Writers Hang-Out

The Vocamus Writers Community Genre Fiction Group will meet online via Zoom.

Monday, Jan 4 2021

Read More

VWC Donors Support Package Released

Vocamus Writers Community has released its annual support package to thank its 2020 donors.

Wednesday, Dec 16 2020

Read More

New Lit Mag at U of G launches tonight!

The University of Guelph has a new literary magazine launching tonight!

Monday, Nov 23 2020

Read More

VWC Welcomes Rashmeet Kaur

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Rashmeet Kaur.

Friday, Nov 6 2020

Read More

Melinda Burns – Late Fall Writers Group

Guelph author Melinda Burns is hosting an online Late Fall Writers Group.

Thursday, Nov 5 2020

Read More

Canadian Freelance Guild Meeting

The monthly meeting of the Canadian Freelance Guild.

Wednesday, Nov 4 2020

Read More

Book Bash 2020 Officially Cancelled

The 2020 Book Bash has been cancelled.

Tuesday, Nov 3 2020

Read More

Vocamus Press Chapbooks Now Available for Shipping

Vocamus Press chapbooks are now available for shipping.

Friday, Oct 30 2020

Read More