Vocamus Writers Community Blog - Local Literary News

VWC Welcomes Kate Howells

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Kate Howells.

Wednesday, Jan 10 2024

Read More

VWC Welcomes Maggie Morris

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Maggie Morris.

Friday, Dec 15 2023

Read More

Update from PS Guelph

Publication Studio Guelph has lots going on that you might want to keep tabs on.

Thursday, Dec 7 2023

Read More

Our Annual Fundraiser Kicks Off Today!

Our Annual Fundraiser Kicks Off Today!

Wednesday, Nov 22 2023

Read More

Marian L. Thorpe Publishes Short Story

Marian L. Thorpe Publishes Short Story

Monday, Nov 13 2023

Read More

VWC Welcomes Lisa Baird

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Lisa Baird.

Friday, Oct 13 2023

Read More

VWC Welcomes Dara Nolan

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Dara Nolan.

Thursday, Oct 12 2023

Read More

Volunteer at Book Bash!

Hey, would you like to volunteer at Book Bash 2023?

Wednesday, Sep 27 2023

Read More

VWC Welcomes Rhiane Heslop

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Rhiane Heslop.

Thursday, Aug 24 2023

Read More

CANCELLED! – VWC Last Sunday Writers' Hang-Out

CANCELLED! – VWC Last Sunday Writers' Hang-Out

Tuesday, Aug 22 2023

Read More

VWC Welcomes Elianna Wylie

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Elianna Wylie.

Monday, Aug 14 2023

Read More

Donate to the Friends of the GPL Book Sale

Donate to the Friends of the GPL Book Sale.

Friday, Aug 4 2023

Read More

Call for Submissions: Sharing Anthologies

One Thousand Trees is looking for stories for three separate anthologies.

Thursday, Jul 27 2023

Read More

Playwriting Group?

We're startng a a playwriting group.

Monday, Jul 17 2023

Read More

Eden Mills Writers' Festival Announces 2023 Lineup

The Eden Mills Writers' Festival has announced its 2023 lineup.

Wednesday, Jul 12 2023

Read More

Call for Participation

One Thousand Trees is calling for participation in the Metamorphosis collaborative writing project..

Wednesday, Jun 28 2023

Read More

Elora Writing Room?

Elora Writing Room?

Monday, Jun 26 2023

Read More

Call for Submissions: Sharing Anthologies

Call for Submissions: Sharing Anthologies

Tuesday, May 23 2023

Read More

Wellington County Writers' Festival Announces its Schedule

The Wellington County Writers' Festival has announced its schedul.

Thursday, May 4 2023

Read More

JayWalking Guelph Announces Its 2023 Season

JayWalking Guelph celebrates it’s 6th season.

Thursday, Apr 27 2023

Read More

Nicholas Ruddock Shortlisted for CBC Short Story Contest

Guelph author Nicholas Ruddock has been shortlisted for the CBC short story contest.

Saturday, Apr 15 2023

Read More

Submit to the Eden Mills Writers' Festival Literary Fringe Contest

The Eden Mills Writers’ Festival is once again holding its Literary Fringe Contest.

Friday, Apr 14 2023

Read More

VWC Welcomes Ivanka Fear

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Ivanka Fear.

Wednesday, Apr 5 2023

Read More

VWC Welcomes Peter Szabo

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Peter Szabo.

Monday, Mar 20 2023

Read More

Help Mentor a Teen Writer!

You can help mentor a teen writer by providing your feedback on their story.

Wednesday, Mar 1 2023

Read More

VWC Welcomes Katarina Vuckovic

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Katarina Vuckovic.

Wednesday, Mar 1 2023

Read More

It Takes a Village:  The 2022 Book Bash Festival 

The 2022 Book Bash Festival took place on November 6th at the Guelph Farmers’ Market.

Wednesday, Jan 4 2023

Read More

Children's Reading Room Adds Extended Hours

Children's Reading Room is adding new, more accessible hours starting this month! 

Tuesday, Jan 3 2023

Read More

C Is for Caring Now Available

C Is for Caring Now Available.

Wednesday, Dec 21 2022

Read More

Grade 3/2 Class Writes a Book About Vulnerable People

The Grade 3/2 class at Guelph Community Christian School, and has written a book about vulnerable people.

Saturday, Dec 10 2022

Read More

VWC Welcomes Samantha Kali Pearson

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Kali Pearson.

Monday, Dec 5 2022

Read More

Reopening of Out on the Shelf

The Out on the Shelf library will be holding an open house to celebrate its reopening.

Saturday, Nov 19 2022

Read More

Five Voices: Reading and Panel

Gordon Hill Press is hosting a fun and interesting panel this coming Friday.

Friday, Nov 18 2022

Read More

The Children's Reading Room Offers New Program!

The Children's Reading Room is working with the Canadian Children’s Literacy Foundation to offer a new program.

Thursday, Nov 17 2022

Read More

Memoir / Creative Non-Fiction Group Update

Creative Non-Fiction /Memoir Group meetings have been suspended indefinitely.

Monday, Nov 7 2022

Read More

Donna Warner Publication

Donna Warner is thrilled to announce that her essay was selected for publication.

Monday, Nov 7 2022

Read More

New Arts Magazine in Town - "The Exhibitionist"

"The Exhibitionist" is a new local arts magazine in town.

Wednesday, Oct 12 2022

Read More

Kate Anderson-Bernier in New Anthology

Local author Kate Anderson-Bernier has had one of her stories published in the No Ordinary Day Anthology

Friday, Sep 30 2022

Read More

Booktoberfest in The Guelph Mercury

The Guelph Mercury has run a story on the upcoming Booktoberfest

Wednesday, Sep 28 2022

Read More

"Open Air, Open Book, Open Mind” by Zandra Juarez

"Open Air, Open Book, Open Mind” by Zandra Juarez

Wednesday, Sep 28 2022

Read More

The Book Bash Festival Is Looking for Volunteers

We're looking for some volunteers to help out with the Book Bash Festival.

Monday, Sep 19 2022

Read More

The Book Bash Festival Is Looking for Swag!

The Book Bash Festival puts together swag bags for our lovely authors and volunteers.

Tuesday, Sep 6 2022

Read More

VWC Welcomes Stephen W. Briggs

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Stephen W. Briggs.

Tuesday, Aug 23 2022

Read More

VWC Welcomes Jenny Lichty

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Jenny Lichty.

Monday, Aug 22 2022

Read More

VWC Welcomes Samantha Blair White

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Samantha Blair White.

Monday, Aug 15 2022

Read More

Reshaping Ruins Project Update

A poem by Guelph author Jeremy Luke Hill has been chosen for the Reshaping Ruins project.

Friday, Aug 5 2022

Read More

VWC Welcomes Colin Dunbar

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Colin Dunbar.

Wednesday, Aug 3 2022

Read More

Is Social Media Your Thing?

Vocamus Writers Community is looking for someone passionate and experienced in social media .

Thursday, Jul 28 2022

Read More

After Hours Write Club

Free After Hours Write Club at the Orangeville Public Library.

Thursday, Jul 28 2022

Read More

Marian L. Thorpe

Local author and publisher Marian L. Thorpe is now a regular contributor to A Muse Bouche Review.

Wednesday, Jul 27 2022

Read More