Vocamus Writers Community Blog

GPL Teen Writing Contest Is Now Open!

The Guelph Public Library Teen Writing Contest is now open.

Friday, Jan 18 2019

We Have A New Fundraising Platform

Vocamus Writers Community is moving to a new fundraising platform.

Tuesday, Jan 15 2019

Arboretum Press Is Guelph's Newest Publisher

Arboretum Press is Guelph's newest publisher.

Friday, Jan 4 2019

Vocamus Writers Community Welcomes Martina Freitag

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Guelph author Martina Freitag.

Friday, Dec 21 2018

Silence Open Mic – Call for Feature Readers

Silence is looking for feature readers for its twice-monthly open mic in 2019.

Thursday, Dec 6 2018

VWC Newsletter – December 2018

The Vocamus Writers Community December 2018 Newsletter is here.

Friday, Nov 30 2018

Elora Writers' Festival Closes

The Elora Writers' Festival closes after twenty-five years.

Friday, Nov 30 2018

Deadline for Proposals - U of G Writers Workshop 2019

The deadline for submitting proposals to the U of G Library Writers Workshop 2019 is Friday, November 30.

Wednesday, Nov 28 2018

EMWF Artistic Director Job Posting

Th Eden Mills Writers' Festival is looking for a new Artistic Director.

Tuesday, Nov 27 2018

Call for Workshop Proposals

The University of Guelph Library Writers Workshop is Calling for Workshop Proposals.

Monday, Nov 12 2018

Vocamus Writers Community Welcomes Linda Kenyon

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Guelph author Linda Kenyon.

Thursday, Nov 8 2018

VWC Newsletter – November 2018

The Vocamus Writers Community November 2018 Newsletter is here.

Thursday, Nov 1 2018

We Want Your Writing Tips

We want to hear your tweet-length writing tips for teens.

Thursday, Oct 18 2018

A Big Book Bash Thank You!

A big thank you to everyone involvd in making Book Bash 2018 a success.

Monday, Oct 15 2018

Book Bash 2018 Sponsor – Webcom

Webcom is one of our generous sponsors for the 2018 Guelph Book Bash Festival.

Friday, Oct 12 2018

Vocamus Writers Community Welcomes Elaine Uskoski

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Guelph author Elaine Uskoski..

Wednesday, Oct 10 2018

Book Bash 2018 Sponsor – Moisan and Associaetes

Moisan and Associates is one of our generous sponsors for the 2018 Guelph Book Bash Festival.

Friday, Oct 5 2018

Book Bash 2018 Sponsor – Modern Castles

Modrn Castles is one of our generous sponsors for the 2018 Guelph Book Bash Festival.

Thursday, Oct 4 2018

Vocamus Writers Community Welcomes Shayne Coffin

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Guelph author Shayne Coffin.

Wednesday, Oct 3 2018

Book Bash 2018 Sponsor – Janus Books

Janus Books is one of our generous sponsors for the 2018 Guelph Book Bash Festival.

Tuesday, Oct 2 2018

Vocamus Writers Community Welcomes Tamara Jong

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Guelph author Tamara Jong.

Tuesday, Oct 2 2018

VWC Newsletter – October 2018

The Vocamus Writers Community October 2018 Newsletter is here.

Monday, Oct 1 2018

Karen Smythe Is Our February Workshops Coordinator

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to announce that Karen Smythe is our new February Workshops Coordinator.

Monday, Oct 1 2018

New Literary Press in Guelph

Gordon Hill Press is Canada's newest literary publisher, right here in Guelph.

Friday, Sep 28 2018

Book Bash 2018 Sponsor – CareWell Health Group

CareWell Health Group is one of our generous sponsors for the 2018 Guelph Book Bash Festival.

Thursday, Sep 27 2018

Marco Muzzi Releases "The Restless Night"

Guelph author Marco Muzzi releases his new novel, "The Restless Night".

Tuesday, Sep 25 2018

10C Practitioner Spaces for Writers

The 10C arts hub has practitioner spaces that might be your writing oasis.

Tuesday, Sep 25 2018

Book Bash 2018 Sponsor – Bailey Creative

Bailey Creative is one of our generous sponsors for the 2018 Guelph Book Bash Festival.

Monday, Sep 24 2018

Book Bash Partner – Action Read

The Book Bash Festival is partnering with Action Read.

Thursday, Sep 20 2018

Vocamus Writers Community Welcomes Melody Leclair

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Guelph author Melody Leclair.

Wednesday, Sep 19 2018

Submit to the Rhapsody Anthology

Vocamus Writers Community is calling for submissions to its annual Rhapsody anthology of Guelph area poetry.

Wednesday, Sep 12 2018

Vocamus Writers Community Welcomes Jared Brock

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Guelph author and film director Jared Brock.

Tuesday, Sep 11 2018

Free Ticket to Eden Mills Writers' Festival?

Vocamus Writers Community has an extra ticket to Eden Mills Writers' Festival.

Thursday, Sep 6 2018

Second Saturday Cancelled This Saturday

The regular Vocamus Writers Community Second Saturday Hang-out is cancelled this Saturday.

Wednesday, Sep 5 2018

Vocamus Writers Community Welcomes C. S. O’Cinneide

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Guelph author C. S. O’Cinneide.

Wednesday, Sep 5 2018

Book Bash Press Release

Here's the official press release for Guelph Book Bash Festival 2018.

Tuesday, Sep 4 2018

VWC Newsletter – September 2018

The Vocamus Writers Community September 2018 Newsletter is here.

Friday, Aug 31 2018

Vocamus Writers Community Welcomes Nina Kirkegaard

Vocamus Writers Community is pleased to welcome Guelph poet Nina Kiekegaard..

Tuesday, Aug 28 2018

Volunteer At Book Bash 2018?

We're looking for some volunteers for our annual Book Bash Festival.

Monday, Aug 27 2018

Nikki Everts is Our Fall Retreat Coordinator

Nikki Everts is the new Fall Retreat Coordinator for Vocamus Writers Community

Monday, Aug 27 2018

Dreamers Creative Writing Launches Print Magazine

Guelph-based writers' website Dreamers Creative Writing has launched a print magazine.

Saturday, Aug 25 2018

Silence Open Mic – August 2018

Guelph poet Nikki Everts features at the August 2018 Silence Open Mic.

Monday, Aug 13 2018

Vocamus Writers Community Welcomes Karen Ralph

Vocamus Writers Community welcomes Karen Ralph as our new Genre Fiction Coordinator.

Friday, Jul 13 2018

Carousel 40 (Summer 2018) Now Available

Guelph literary magazine Carousel has released its Summer 2018 issue.

Tuesday, Jul 10 2018

Kim Davids Mandar Is Our Last Sunday Writers'Hang-Out Coordinator

Vocamus Writers Community welcomes Kim Davids Mandar as the new coordinator for our Last Sunday Writers' Hang-Outs.

Monday, Jul 9 2018

Claire Tacon Interview

Queen Mob's Tea House posted an interview with Guelph author Claire Tacon.

Monday, Jul 2 2018

Vocamus Press Releases "My Precious Fears" by Douglas davey

Vocamus Press has released "My Precious Fears", a broadsheet of unofficial phobias by Douglas Davey.

Wednesday, Jun 20 2018

"Good Grief People" Shortlisted for Award

"Good Grief People", featuring Guelph author Barbara Heagy, was a finalist for Words Award.

Saturday, Jun 16 2018

New Email for Vocamus Writers Community

Vocamus Writers Community has a new email address.

Friday, Jun 15 2018

Vocamus Press Welcomes Adam Dahari

Vocamus Press has announced that Adam Dahari will be joining its team as an editor.

Tuesday, Jun 12 2018